Instructors: Matthieu Villatte, PhD

Starts on Tuesday, March 1st, 2016

Course Description

This 6-month online course is designed to turn you into a RFT expert! Step by step, you will learn the basic principles of this theory and how to use them in psychological interventions. The course will be facilitated by Matthieu Villatte, PhD, clinical trainer and author of "Mastering the Clinical Conversation: Language as Intervention" and of a number of articles and chapters on RFT for clinical practice.

We will use a variety of materials such as videos, podcasts, Powerpoint presentations, articles and chapters, live talks, and listserve discussions. Each week, you will receive a training post with optional work assignment to help you progress at your own pace.

Competencies trained in 2016:

  • Basic RFT principles involved in clinical work
  • Framework for using RFT in clinical practice
  • Psychological assessment using RFT
  • Activating and shaping behavior change with RFT
  • Building meaning and motivation with RFT

Technical Requirements: You will need a computer with high-speed internet access and either a telephone or speakers/headset for audio to join the live sessions.

Instructor

Matthieu Villatte is a Research Scientist at the Evidence-Based Practice Institute. He was formerly Assistant Professor in clinical psychology at the University of Louisiana.  He obtained his Ph.D. in France, with an emphasis on clinical behavior analysis and relational frame theory, and completed a post-doctoral fellowship at the University of Nevada, Reno under the mentorship of Steve Hayes . Matthieu is an ACBS recognized ACT trainer who has facilitated workshops focusing on clinical applications of RFT in North and South America, Australia, and Europe. He is the co-author of the first ACT manual published in French and is associate editor of the Journal of Contextual Behavior Science.  His new book, Mastering the Clinical Conversation: Language as Intervention, is co-authored by Jennifer Villatte and Steve Hayes and was released by Guilford Press.

Registration Ends on:
February 24, 2016

Cost: $250

Learning Objectives

By the end of the course, participants will be able to:

  • Describe the basic principles of RFT
  • Describe the relationship between language and psychopathology
  • Describe and apply the clinical CBS-RFT framework
  • Describe and apply RFT principles in psychological assessment
  • Describe and apply RFT principles in activating and shaping behavior change
  • Describe and apply RFT principles in fostering meaning and motivation

Dates and Times of Live Sessions

All sessions will be held from 9-10:30 am pacific/10-11:30 mountain/11am-12:30pm central/12-1:30pm eastern/4-5:30pm GMT/UTC.

The 8 live sessions will occur on March 15th, March 29th, April 20th, May 11th, June 2nd, June 28th, July 20th and August 4th.

All sessions will be recorded and available afterward to those that are unable to attend the live session.